About Bluffton

The Town of Bluffton is located in Beaufort County, the southernmost coastal county in South Carolina. It is situated on a high bluff overlooking the May River, a pristine waterway that has strongly contributed to the Town's history and continued success. Bluffton is located just 12 miles west of Hilton Head Island, SC and approximately 20 miles northeast of Savannah, GA.

Bluffton recently expanded its territory by 32,000 acres through annexation of primarily four tracts of undeveloped land, becoming the fifth largest town in South Carolina (by land area).

The Bluffton Regional Map shows the most recent town limits. Since tracts of land are annexed individually, it sometimes creates pockets of unincorporated land throughout a particular area. Such is the case with Bluffton. However, Bluffton Township (i.e. Fire district) overlays one continuous area of land combining property within the Town limits with the unincorporated pockets of land. Therefore, those who are not within the Town limits can still have a Bluffton mailing address if you are in the Township.

Thus the Town limits consist of the original one-square mile (Old Town), four primary annexed tracts of land (Shults Tract, Palmetto Bluff Tract, Buckwalter Tract, and Jones Estate), and a number of auxiliary annexations (Bluffton Village, Village at Verdier, Shultz-Goethe Road area, and Willow Run).

© Town of Bluffton/Website by Hazel Digital Media